Sabbath Day Devotion
April 8, 2017
Was Jesus a Vegetarian?
I had someone ask me if Jesus was a vegetarian. That is a question I have never thought much about. Apparently there are some in the vegan world promoting this concept.
Answer: Jesus was not a vegetarian. The Bible records Jesus eating fish in Luke 24:42-43. In Luke 22:7-15, we are told that Jesus ate the Passover meal with his disciples. This meal included the Passover lamb.
I would like to say that Jesus was a big beef eater, but I cannot find any scriptures to support that way of thinking. However, when Jesus tells the parable of the prodigal son in Luke 15:11-32, he said the “father killed the fattened calf” to celebrate the return of his son.
After the flood, God gave mankind permission to eat meat (Genesis 9:1-3). God has never rescinded this permission.
With that said… there is nothing wrong with a Christian being a vegetarian. The Bible does not command us to eat meat. The Bible does say, though, that we should not force our convictions about this issue on other people or judge them by what they eat or do not eat (Romans 14:1-3).
Don’t just GO to church; BE the Church
Cheyenne Wells, CO